Detailed Structure of Revelation (Walvoord, BKC)

- I. Introduction: "What You Have Seen" (chap. 1)
 - 1. Prologue (1:1-3)
 - 2. Salutation (1:4–8)
 - 3. The Patmos vision of Christ glorified (1:9-18)
 - 4. The command to write (1:19–20)
- II. Letters to the Seven Churches: "What Is Now" (chaps. 2-3)
 - 1. Ephesus (2:1–7)
 - 2. Smyrna (2:8-11)
 - 3. Pergamum (2:12-17)
 - 4. Thyatira (2:18-29)
 - 5. Sardis (3:1-6)
 - 6. Philadelphia (3:7-13)
 - 7. Laodicea (3:14–22)

"Anyone with ears to hear must listen to the Spirit and understand what he is saying to the churches."

- III. The Revelation of the Future: "What Will Take Place Later" (chaps. 4-22)
 - A. The Events (4-9)
 - 1. Vision of the heavenly throne (chap. 4)
 - 2. Seven-sealed scroll (chap. 5)
 - 3. Opening six of the seals: the time of divine wrath (chap. 6)
 - 4. Saved in the Great Tribulation (chap. 7)
 - 5. Seventh seal opened introducing seven trumpet judgments (chaps. 8-9)
 - B. The Personages (10-15)
 - 1. The mighty angel and the little scroll (chap. 10)
 - 2. The two witnesses (11:1-14)
 - 3. The sounding of the seventh trumpet (11:15–19)
 - 4. Seven great personages of the end times (chaps. 12–15)
 - C. The End of the Age (16-19)
 - 1. Seven bowls of divine wrath (chap. 16)
 - 2. The fall of Babylon (chaps. 17–18)
 - 3. The song of hallelujah in heaven (19:1–10)
 - 4. The second coming of Christ (19:11-21)
 - D. The Future of the Kingdom (20-22)
 - 1. Millennial reign of Christ (20:1-10)
 - 2. Great white throne judgment (20:11–15)
 - 3. New heaven and the new earth (21:1-22:5)
 - E. The final word from God $(22:6-21)^1$

¹ Adapted from the outline by John F. Walvoord, <u>"Revelation,"</u> in The Bible Knowledge Commentary: An Exposition of the Scriptures, (Wheaton, IL: Victor Books, 1985), 927–928.